updated 12:41 pm EDT, Wed September 26, 2012
User searches will be logged, but kept private, deletable
Facebook will be retaining and giving users access to a log of searches they make on the social network. The site announced today in a news post changes to its Activity Log, giving users the ability to review searches conducted on the site as well as their other activities on the site. The social network assures users that the data will remain private and that users will be able to remove searches at any time.
Starting today, users will see their searches listed among their other activities on the site. Only a user may view his own Activity Log.
The feature will be rolling out to users over the next few weeks, and users can access the tool by going to the top of their profiles and selecting Search from the activity sorter.
Reportedly, the feature is not retroactive, meaning that searches conducted prior to today will not be showing up in the Activity Log. Going forward, though, both users and Facebook will have a complete -- though editable -- log of all searches conducted on the site. [via Gizmodo]