updated 07:21 am EST, Tue November 27, 2012
Users forced to use social network accounts as identification
Google is forcing users of its Play Store to reveal their identities, in what appears to be a move to force more accountability in application reviews found on the service. The change in policy sees Google adding Google+ integration to the review system, permanently linking a review to the social network account.
A warning message now appears both in the Play app and online when anyone reviews a download, explaining that new entries will be connected to Google+, according to The Verge. Previously submitted reviews will be listed as by "A Google User," with no option to change it to the new account-linked name.
A similar change was made on YouTube not too long ago, giving viewers the option to put their name to a comment instead of using the pseudonyms used at registration, though judging by comments made on the service, this does not appear to have been used by many. It is hoped that by forcing the naming policy on the Play app reviews, comments that "Troll" may cease to be published, though it will not stop more determined individuals from setting up spoof Google+ accounts just for this purpose.