Printed from http://www.electronista.com

Flickr gives free Pro trial to users after Instagram outcry

updated 08:25 am EST, Sat December 22, 2012

Free three months Pro usage includes unlimited uploads

Photo-sharing site Flickr is offering its free users an upgraded trial membership at no charge for a limited time. Messages sent to users under the subject line "Merry Flickr" state that users will gain three months of access to Flickr Pro automatically, and comes shortly after Instagram caused a public outcry by altering its terms of service to reveal that the company could use members' content in advertising.

Flickr users who accept the Pro offer will be able to view their entire photo library instead of the last 200 images; can upload unlimited numbers of photos; can download originally-uploaded high-resolution photos, and also upload and play unlimited HD videos to the service. The upgrade requires users to click a banner on the website or within the mobile app, and does not require any form of payment or an automatic renewal before the trial run ends on March 22. Accounts will automatically revert back to their original status, though users can opt to pay $7 per quarter or a flat $25 per year to continue their Pro membership if they wish.

The timing of the offer appears to capitalize on the recent user uprising on Instagram, caused by a change to its terms of service. Originally, Instagram changed the user agreement to make clearer that it could potentially sell users' images stored on the site with no compensation offered to the user, a language change more than a policy change -- but one that has since been reverted back to the previous phrasing.

What many Instagram users may not understand, however, is that the ability of Instagram to use photos without compensation in advertising is still there, as it has always been. The company, which is searching for a sustainable business model, has clarified that although the agreement allows them to "sub-license" photos without payment or notification, it does not plan to do so, and will more thoroughly change the language in that section to reflect this at some future date.

Other services, such as Facebook, also have given themselves the right to use uploaded content as they wish without payment, such as in ads to promote the service. Flickr, by contrast, has taken a different approach: the company facilitates an optional "Creative Commons" license for user photos to aid in non-commercial sharing without copyright issues, and also features a program run in conjunction with Getty Images, allowing users to make photos available for consideration to purchase. If selected, the users receive payment for images sold through the stock photography company.




By Electronista Staff
Post tools:

TAGS :

toggle

Comments

  1. coffeetime

    Junior Member

    Joined: 11-15-06

    3 months of unlimited whatever and then charge us later is NOT a smart way to say "Thank You". It's called "Deceiving". What's is wrong with Yahoo?

  1. MalcolmOwen

    MacNN Staff

    Joined: 07-18-12

    Originally Posted by coffeetimeView Post

    3 months of unlimited whatever and then charge us later is NOT a smart way to say "Thank You". It's called "Deceiving". What's is wrong with Yahoo?



    From the article:

    Originally Posted by NewsPosterView Post

    The upgrade requires users to click a banner on the website or within the mobile app, and does not require any form of payment or an automatic renewal before the trial run ends on March 22. Accounts will automatically revert back to their original status, though users can opt to pay $7 per quarter or a flat $25 per year to continue their Pro membership if they wish.


    There is no deception there as far as I can see. Once the 3 months is over, they revert the account back to the free version. Indeed, their help forum says that "Accepting the Holiday Gift will not sign you up for auto-renewal."

  1. cgc

    Professional Poster

    Joined: 03-25-03

    Originally Posted by coffeetimeView Post

    3 months of unlimited whatever and then charge us later is NOT a smart way to say "Thank You". It's called "Deceiving". What's is wrong with Yahoo?



    Just like the one-month NetFlix trial, cancel it near the end and walk away. What's so difficult about that?

Login Here

Not a member of the MacNN forums? Register now for free.

toggle

Network Headlines

toggle

Most Popular

Sponsor

Recent Reviews

STM Trust technology bag

The search for a good messenger bag that doubles as a laptop bag is something many travelers find themselves facing at least once. Bet ...

PenClic Bluetooth mouse

Windows 8 aside, computer users have been trained that a mouse is the proper way to navigate through the desktop for many years now. T ...

Cat B100

Cat is primarily known for its heavy-duty machinery used in the construction industry and farming, among other areas. What may not be ...

Sponsor

toggle

Most Commented

 
toggle

Popular News