updated 12:50 pm EDT, Wed March 13, 2013
Sharing of viewed, rated shows shown to friends in app, Facebook updates
Netflix has announced it is adding Facebook integration to its streaming service in the US. The feature, having spent a considerable amount time in development, will allow users to share films and TV shows they have watched with Facebook friends on both the social network and within Netflix itself, but only if they choose to share their activity too.
When sharing within Netflix, content watched will appear on two new rows, titled "Watched by Your Friends" and "Friends' Favorites," the latter of which will display items that friends have rated four or five stars. Braver users wishing to share their content via Facebook status updates can do so, but not by default, according to the company blog.
Options to turn off sharing and unshare specific items after having been shared are available to use, and sharing can be denied for individual items, on guilty pleasures for example, by selecting "Don't Share This" on the Netflix player when an item is about to start playing.
Netflix subscribers will be able to share their viewing habits when it gets rolled out to all US customers by the end of this week.